Of Towels and Ice Cream

It takes time for the brain to process and internalize change. It’s been almost half a year since I wore the wife shoe. I admit I’m still trying to figure out how to run this house efficiently, along with Heiko, of course! Thankfully, there’s a positive push from time to time:

During a humbling, domestic cleaning session, I found some towels that we had forgotten about. I picked them up to sort through it and smelled it. Yes, that’s how I find out if it needs washing. To my surprise, it had that freshly laundered scent from Mama’s (Heiko’s Mama) home. I say surprised not because of the smell, but because of how it made me feel. It smelled like home- much like my Paati’s (grandma) saree, (which I took before leaving Bangalore, successfully stuffing into my 23 kilo baggage allowance) or Mamma’s (my mother) blue t-shirt. All a source of warmth, comfort and belonging.

The other thing that happened while we were at the supermarket was this sudden want for ice cream. I’ll explain why this is a big deal for me- I am not big on ice cream. It’s one of the few things I am picky about. I enjoy the frutiy ones during hot Indian summers, otherwise very rarely. So I really didn’t think I would have one anytime soon. Not with cold, gloomy, rainy, shitty weather days. But a walk by the ice cream section tempted me into my first cup of ice cream. And what else would it be except the best kind! An Oreo cup- creamy and filled with Oreo chips.

I’m also happy to report that my German is getting better, slower than I’d like. I don’t go for classes yet, I hope to after our marriage certificate is registered here. (That’s a whole other story!) But I had a 5 sentence Whatsapp conversation with Mama on my own. I’m sure it had grammatical errors, and Heiko tells me it did. I successfully communicated what I wanted to say and she understood it and replied to me! It’s a pat-on-my-back moment and a step up the language ladder. Yay me! 

IMG_0480

I’m also watching the German version of The Voice for kids. I love these singing shows and they sing in English as well, so it was a good hour, sealing my Friday 9pm’s.

Three instances for my starting to make a home here! There are probably more that I haven’t actively noticed before, and sure hope there are more to come. Home is finally starting to expand from Bagalur Cross in Bangalore to Hamburg and Ostfriesland in Germany 🙂

P.S. Husband’s comment: Yay! That is awesome. Sehr gut!

Leave a Reply

