Reel Relationships

One of the most distinct memories of when I cried about something unreal was the time Sirius Black died in Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, not the first time I was reading it, no. It was the third time. I knew it was going to happen but my silent sobs became louder as I inched closer to the dreaded page. When I got there, I must have been bawling, because Mamma came into my room worried, asking me what had happened. When I tried to explain why in between all the snuffling and wiping, she reacted with a “Thoo!” (I think with a combination of relief and irritation) before going back to whatever she was doing before.

Yes, I am the kind of person that gets lost in what I read or watch, feeling everything the characters are feeling, immersing myself in it and switching off from my surroundings. Occasionally A lot of the time, it makes me cry at the drop of a hat. I know I am not alone, R, one of my close friends does this too. I am also willing to bet that she and I are notthe only ones, and there is more than a village out there- say “Aye!”

For the last couple of months, I’ve been binge watching Gilmore Girls. Last night, I successfully completed seven seasons. It’s been an incredible journey of laughter, tears , lumps in my throat, knot in my stomach, warmth in my heart, and all those emotions in between. I woke up with a headache this morning as a result of all the crying and …feelings, of dreaming about Lorelai. Even as I write this, the theme music runs in my head.

I don’t think I’ve ever tried to explain why it makes me so content- to watch so many TV shows and movies. It is my belief, that any piece of art is effective when it invokes emotion. My favorite kind of art is one that makes me feel all the fuzzy feelings of love. Love in any and all forms- in all relationships, in all situations. I love to watch something that makes me cry. That sounds weird, even as I read it now, but that’s the truth.

When those other doctors failed to save Derek, or when Ross insisted  they (Rachel and him) were on a break; when Barney was awesome and when Penny gave Sheldon a hug; when Luke organised that farewell party for Rory to make Lorelai happy – it all just goes to show how much we need each other to lean on, to love and care- to know that in the end, through all the complaining and screaming, the problems and inconveniences, there’s someone who’s got our back.

Just to even out the weirdness, I also enjoy the other kind of TV shows- the stress and thrill of how Sherlock will figure it out, the shock of the Red Wedding, the manipulation of the Underwoods, the fascination of  just how many different places you could hide stuff in prison, the clues that lead Bones to the killer, the loophole that Mike will find for Harvey to win a case…there’s no end to this list.

Every book, every movie, each episode of a wonderful TV show that has warmed my heart and made me smile, laugh or cry (sometimes out of sadness, and sometimes because of the overwhelming happiness) is something that makes me forget my reality but at the same time, reminds of it. Simply put, it is the invisible bridge that gets built through the process of knowing someone else’s story- of feeling what and how someone else might have felt- regardless of whether it’s real or not, because they’re all different aspects of human imagination and emotions.

On that note, I’m going to hit publish and subscribe to Netflix to continue my potentially problematic pass time.
For the Gilmore Girl fans- Happy watching!
For the others- Happy weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

